Arizona Coyotes. since 1970/71. After unsuccessfully attempting to resolve disputes with Eddie Livingstone, owner of the Toronto Blueshirts, executives of the three other NHA franchises suspended the NHA, and formed the National Hockey League (NHL), replacing the Livingstone team with a temporary team in Toronto, the Arenas. Welcome to the unofficial NHL Uniform Database. Buffalo Sabres. There is a sense of belonging we associate with the logos of our team whom we have been following for quite a while. National Hockey League Team Logos. since 2006/07. The NHL's first quarter-century saw the league compete against two rival m… The NHL Board of Governors approved an expansion franchise for Las Vegas on Wednesday. It featured a shield shape given in orange and black colors. since 1924/25. Boston Bruins. since 2014/15. Surf away! The current NHL logo, which was adopted in 2005, looks very similar to the previous one, at least the core visual metaphor remains the same: a shield shape. The NHL is considered to be the premier professional ice hockey league in the world, and one of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. Here, you can explore all the uniforms from the entire history of the National Hockey League. The Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America, is awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each s… Since the first round of expansion in 1967, the League has grown from the Original Six to 31 teams. The famous NHL shield logo was introduced in 1946 (according to other sources, in 1917). The history of the National Hockey League begins with the end of its predecessor league, the National Hockey Association (NHA), in 1917. The teams are at the top; the seasons are to the left. Sports Logo History Story. Anaheim Ducks. At Sports Logo History, we take the history of these teams logos, structure it, and make it available to all of those sports fanatics who want to feel closer to their team with their historical sports logos. The National Hockey League (NHL; French: Ligue nationale de hockey—LNH) is a professional ice hockey league in North America, currently comprising 31 teams: 24 in the United States and 7 in Canada.